## National Association of Department Historians of The American Legion

The American Legion, National Headquarters Library 700 N. Pennsylvania Street Indianapolis, IN

MEETING - October 8th, 2024

Convened: 10:00 am Adjourned: 11:40 am

The meeting was called to order by President PNH Charemon Dunham at 10:00 am in the library of The American Legion Headquarters.

Salute to colors

Prayer

Roll Call of Officers present: (8) PNH Charemon Dunham, SD; Thomas Wiley, NH; Tommy Hatton, GA; Terry Abdelnour, IL; Lynne Rollins, GA; PNH Deborah Davis, CO; PNH Charles Zelinsky, IL; and PNH James Fratolillo, MA.

Other Members present: (15) NH Jennifer Laux, NE; PNC Denise Rohan, WI; Al Beyer, OH; Steve DeFeo, ID; Ruth Higgins, MD; PNH James Higuera, CA; Charles Jay, MD; Mitchell Keil, MA; Jennifer Kritzer, AZ; Cliff Morlan, IN; Shirley Platt, TX; Bill Richards, NC; Everett Shepard, CT; J.R. Stillwell, IL; Dan Watrous, OH;

Other members (3) Library staff, (26) total

Guest - Laura Edwards (Ledwards@legion.com) HQ Associate Editor of LEGION magazine.

Minutes – read by President Dunham (SD)

Sick Call – Frazier Brinley (CT) (email and CT SAA reported); James Mariner (NM) hospital; 15-16 PNH James Copher (MN); Fae Casper (TN) ??

Motion by Chuck Zelinsky (IL) to accept last meeting minutes – Seconded. Passed.

Introduction of 2024-25 National Historian Jennifer Laux (NE).

Speaking on changes, QR codes of winners (2024) with five individuals judging. 2025- digital- posts will not be judged at Natl but can be displayed. Still encourage post history books at department level. Rules for 2025 will be emailed to department historians. Departments to certify and due by 1 Aug 2025. NADHAL rules should be followed.

Laura Edwards – Centennial access is still available. New website issues. Winners to be announced by National Historian to NECs meeting.

Chuck Zelinsky (IL) - Christmas fund

Area Vice -President duties – James Fratolillo (MA) explained duties.

Finance report – Treasurer Lynne Robbins (GA)

Tom Gillespie retired. \$10,315.29 in account.

Limit \$60-70 on Library staff donation/gift. Very low on NADHAL pins.

Motion by Charles Jay (MD) have Lynne research and make decision. Seconded. Passed.

Motion by James Fratolillo (MA) accept Finance report. Seconded. Passed.

Motion by Chuck Zelinsky (IL) to nominate J. R. Stilwell (IL) for Honorary Life. Seconded. Passed.

Motion by Chuck Zelinsky (IL) to donate \$150 to Library. Seconded. Passed.

New Business -

Ouestions on future of NADHAL...MUCH discussion!!!

Motion to table until next meeting by Terry Abdelnour (IL). Seconded. Passed.

Nominations of NADHAL elected officers-

Motion to elect Deb Davis (CO) as next NADHAL President. Seconded. Passed.

All the following Area Vice-Presidents were nominated with motion. Seconded. Passed.

Area 1 – Tom Wiley (NH)

Area 2 - VACANT

Area 3 – Ruth Higgins (MD)

Area 4 - VACANT

Area 5 – Kirk Williams (AR)

Area 6 - Steve Defro (IN)

Area 7 – Charemon Dunham (SD)

Area 8 - VACANT

Area 9 – Jennifer Kritzer (AZ)

Motion to close nominations and accept. Seconded. Passed.

All other NADHAL officer positions are to be appointed.

Colors recognized

Meeting adjourned – 11:40am

Respectively submitted – Tom Wiley, acting secretary